Featuring experts from

Featured Logos

Number of experts listed:

Visit us on Facebook Visit us on Twitter

UC to host women’s University Sevens Series tournament

Friday, 13 July 2018

Source: University of Canberra

The University of Canberra has been named as a host venue for the 2018 Aon University Sevens Series.

The country’s best up-and-coming female rugby sevens players will descend on the University in September for round two of the five-leg competition.

  • University of Canberra head coach David Grimmond and players will be available for interview at the University’s Sporting Commons at 10am TODAY

University of Canberra Director of Sport Carrie Graf said hosting a tournament was a major coup for the University.

“The University Sevens Series was a huge success in its first year and it is returning bigger and better in 2018,” Graf said.

“The University of Canberra has been part of this fantastic initiative for women’s rugby from the very beginning and we’re thrilled to have greater involvement in this year’s series as a host venue.

“We have some of the best training and performance facilities for rugby in Australia at our Bruce campus, making the University of Canberra an ideal location for the University Sevens Series.”

University of Canberra women’s rugby sevens head coach David Grimmond said a home tournament would work in his side’s favour.

“It’s great for the players,” Grimmond said. “Home ground advantage is big in any sport and the girls will benefit from playing in front of their family and friends. It’s an added incentive.

“We’ve been training on campus this year, so it’s a familiar venue to us and we’ll look to use that to our advantage in September.”

The Aon University Sevens Series has expanded to five rounds in 2018 with the University of Melbourne and the University of Sydney joining the competition in its second year.

Tournaments will also be held in Hobart, Brisbane, Gold Coast and Adelaide. The 10-team series will kick off in August and conclude in October.

2018 Aon University Sevens Series

Round 1

August 25–26, University of Tasmania, Hobart

Round 2

September 8–9, University of Canberra, Canberra

Round 3

September 22–23, University of Queensland, Brisbane

Round 4

October 6–7, Bond University, Gold Coast

Round 5

October 20–21, The University of Adelaide, Adelaide

WHAT: 2018 Aon University Sevens Series venue announcement. University of Canberra head coach David Grimmond and players will be available for interview

WHEN: Wednesday 11 July 10am – 10.30am

WHERE: Sporting Commons (Building 29), University of Canberra (campus map)

Contact the University of Canberra media team:

Antony Perry

0434 795 919


Tara Corcoran

0418 806 293